fbpx

School Perseverance program

6 November 2021

Education has the power to transform the career of a young person from the DYP.

Staying in school and graduating from an educational institution are real issues for the young people from the DYP. Currently, only 25% of them have a high school diploma by the age of 19*. Yet education has the power to positively and sustainably improve the lives of young people who are dealing with major life challenges. It can also help to break the cycle of poverty.

Obtaining a professional, college, or university degree contributes to their financial stability and strengthens the independence of DYP youths. They can finally take control of their lives by meeting their professional aspirations, which then become a great source of pride and self-esteem!

The School Perseverance program is there to support young people at the DYP when learning challenges arise. It helps to ensure that youths have all the favorable conditions for success, while celebrating and highlighting the successes that result from all their efforts!

*study carried out by CREVAJ

The School Perseverance program in action

  • Purchase of computer equipment and school materials
  • Offer of tutoring and personalized educational support
  • Specific financial assistance: payment for daycare, school fees, cafeteria, and public transit tickets
  • Granting of scholarships to reward academic perseverance

The School Perseverance program in numbers

For 2020-2021

612
Number of youths who benefitted from the program
Budget allocated for the program
Age categories of youths who received help

Thanks to your contribution, we were able to enroll a young person in a math class. They are a gifted teenager with a keen intelligence who did not have access to the same opportunities as other young people their age.

He was recently admitted to an enrichment program.

This is an incredible opportunity for him to dream about a brighter future for himself.

Thank you!

Véronique Veilleux
Youth representative, DYP
See all programs

fbpx

Persévérance scolaire

6 novembre 2021

L’éducation a le pouvoir de transformer le parcours d’un jeune de la DPJ.

Pourtant, la persévérance scolaire et la diplomation des jeunes de la DPJ sont de véritables enjeux. Actuellement, seulement 25 % d’entre eux détiennent un diplôme d’études secondaires à 19 ans*. L’éducation a pourtant le pouvoir d’améliorer positivement et de façon durable la vie des jeunes au parcours de vie difficile, tout comme elle peut contribuer à briser le cycle de la pauvreté.

L’obtention d’un diplôme professionnel, collégial ou universitaire contribue à leur stabilité financière et renforce leur autonomie. Les jeunes peuvent enfin prendre le contrôle de leur vie en répondant à leurs aspirations professionnelles : une formidable source de fierté et d’estime de soi!

La Fondation est là pour soutenir les jeunes de la DPJ lorsque des défis d’apprentissage sont identifiés, pour s’assurer qu’ils aient toutes les conditions favorables pour réussir, pour célébrer leurs efforts et souligner les succès qui en découlent!

*étude réalisée par la CREVAJ

Le programme Persévérance scolaire en actions

  • Achat d’équipement informatique et de matériel scolaire
  • Offre de tutorat et soutien pédagogique personnalisé
  • Aide financière spécifique : paiement du service de garde, frais scolaires, cafétéria et titres de transport
  • Remise de bourses pour récompenser la persévérance scolaire

Le programme Persévérance scolaire en chiffres

pour l’année 2020-2021

612
Nombre de jeunes qui ont bénéficié du programme 
Budget alloué au programme
Catégories d’âge des jeunes aidés

Grâce à votre contribution, nous avons pu inscrire un jeune à un cours de maths. Un adolescent surdoué, doté d’une intelligence vive, mais qui n’a pas les mêmes opportunités que d’autres jeunes. Il est maintenant admis dans un programme Douance. C’est une chance inouïe pour lui de rêver à un bel avenir. Merci!

Véronique Veilleux
Déléguée à la jeunesse, DPJ
Voir tous les programmes de la Fondation